“Reality” Programming in Real Life.

Husband watches Hoarders. My husband, who won’t even let me watch competition ‘reality’ programing, watches Hoarders. Sometimes, the thought of it makes me stop in bewilderment.

He  says it makes him feel better about his own life, almost an affirmation, if you will, that he is somehow better than others. I can understand that impulse. I admit I feel the same way about other shows (mainly Toddlers and Tiaras, because really, some of those women are obviously trying to live through their children and it kind of frightens me).

But then he turns around and mocks me for watching competition shows, like Project Runway and RuPaul’s Drag Race. I have no interest in the drama behind the scenes, I just love seeing pretty things and how they compare to other works. Plus, Drag Race is a drag show I don’t have to leave my house for, that’s worth a lot to me!

I just don’t think that his attitude is fair on that one.

About strikingfancy

I have many and varied interests, and I plan to explore them all. Eventually. View all posts by strikingfancy

Leave a Reply

