Repurposing Scrabble.

Scrabble is my favorite game almost ever. It is definitely my favorite board game. It is also my mother in law’s favorite board game, so she and I bond over it all the time.

Then we started seeing the scrabble tile pendants floating around, and we knew we wanted some. I mean, really, we only own like twenty versions of the game between us. We’ve been looking at all the tutorials, and all the suggestions. I love reading the comments to find out what’s been tested and what didn’t work.

Finally, Mom IL bought some glaze and some enamel stickers, and we’ve given both a swing. The glaze can be very temperamental, but when it works, it works. The stickers are more reliable, but they are slightly yellowed, so everything won’t be crystal clear, but slightly tinged. It isn’t much of a difference, but it is something you have to deal with.

We also used a few different kinds of glue. I like to print out little customized pictures for mine, so using something like Mod Podge is not always the best choice because it has so much moisture that the ink runs. Instead, I switched to a spray adhesive.

Currently, my technique of choice is to put the sticker on the picture, cut the picture out by following the sticker, and then spraying the tile and affixing the picture/sticker to the tile. The glue is quite tacky, and the attachment has to be fast, but the results have been pretty decent so far.

I’d have pictures to show you, but none of them turned out all that clear, even though the pendant’s are awesome.

If you have any suggestions, please feel free to let me know. I’m always looking for better/easier ways to do things.

About strikingfancy

I have many and varied interests, and I plan to explore them all. Eventually. View all posts by strikingfancy

Leave a Reply

