Tropical Sand-wiching.

Ever since I was a kid, I can remember my family teaching me how to make sandwiches that are apparently not that common to other people. Growing up, I didn’t know any better left, right, or center, so I thought that everyone else knew about these tasty, tasty treats, but I was apparently wrong. To this day, I’m always shocked to hear from someone that they ‘would never put that on a sandwich.’

Well, to that end, I’m spreading the gospel as well as the mayonnaise. You see, my Granny used to tell me about the chocolate sandwiches her mother would pack for her before school. And my Daddy told me about the butter and jelly sandwiches Granny used to send with him. And I’m going to tell you about the pineapple sandwiches and banana sandwiches I ate as a child, because they are so delicious.

Both begin the same way:

  • two slices of bread (preferably cheap white, but cheap wheat also works)
  • mayonnaise
  • sugar

But then they differ in their main components.

If you go with banana, you are need to slice it up into sandwich-thick pieces. Personally, I love to cut mine in half down the middle, as though making a banana split, because I like a hearty bite.

If you choose pineapple, I would suggest going with canned pineapple slices. Drain off the juice the best you can, because even afterward the pineapple will still hold a lot of juice that can make the sandwich soggy (which is not necessarily tasty).

For both sandwiches, the prep is quite quick. I recommend the following steps, which come from years of practice and trial and error.

  • separate the slices of bread and spread mayonnaise to personal taste
  • sprinkle the mayonnaise of one side liberally with sugar (only enough to slightly sweeten, not like you are making crispy rice cereal)
  • put the fruit on the other piece of bread (of course, on the mayonnaise side!)
  • then close the sandwich and enjoy.

The banana should be trimmed to a comfortable length, because most bananas are too long for basic white bread. The pineapple slices are, of course, cored, so it might make you happy to layer the pineapple or cut it into half-/semi-circles to place more easily on the sandwich.

Either one you enjoy will be delicious. And even if it isn’t, I don’t care, ’cause I think they are yummy-tastic.

About strikingfancy

I have many and varied interests, and I plan to explore them all. Eventually. View all posts by strikingfancy

Leave a Reply

