FaveTiem Pt. 2.

One of the most underused instruments in music to me is the organ. Specifically rock music, but most music in general could be improved with a little organ. There is especially something about the electric organ twisting around an electric guitar that just gets to me.

Here’s my top five songs that incorporate the electric organ beautifully:

1. A Whiter Shade of Pale by Procol Harum

We Skipped The Light Fandango
Turned Cartweheels From The Floor
I Was Feeling Kind Of Seasick
But The Crowd Called Out For More
The Room Was Humming Harder
As The Ceiling Threw Away
When We Called Out For Another Drink
The Waiter Brought A Tray

And So It Was That Later
As The Miller Told His Tale
That Her Face At First Just Ghostly
Turned A Whiter Shade Of Pale

She Said There Is No Reason
And The Truth Is Made Of Seam
That I Wonder Through My Plain Clothes
Would Not Let Her Be
One Of Sixteen Vestal Virgins
Who Were Leaving For The Coast
And Although My Eyes Were Open
They Might Just As Well Been Closed

And So It Was That Later
As the Miller Told His Tale
That Her Face At First Just Ghostly
Turned A Whiter Shade Of Pale

2. Magic Carpet Ride by Steppenwolf

I like to dream yes, yes, right between my sound machine
On a cloud of sound I drift in the night
Any place it goes is right
Goes far, flies near, to the stars away from here

Well, you don’t know what we can find
Why don’t you come with me little girl
On a magic carpet ride
You don’t know what we can see
Why don’t you tell your dreams to me
Fantasy will set you free
Close your eyes girl
Look inside girl
Let the sound take you away

Last night I held Aladdin’s lamp
And so I wished that I could stay
Before the thing could answer me
Well, someone came and took the lamp away
I looked around, a lousy candle’s all I found

Well, you don’t know what we can find
Why don’t you come with me little girl
On a magic carpet ride
Well, you don’t know what we can see
Why don’t you tell your dreams to me
Fantasy will set you free
Close your eyes girl
Look inside girl
Let the sound take you away

3. House of the Rising Sun by The Animals

There is a house in New Orleans
They call the Rising Sun
And it’s been the ruin of many a poor boy
And God I know I’m one

My mother was a tailor
She sewed my new bluejeans
My father was a gamblin’ man
Down in New Orleans

Now the only thing a gambler needs
Is a suitcase and trunk
And the only time he’s satisfied
Is when he’s on a drunk

Oh mother tell your children
Not to do what I have done
Spend your lives in sin and misery
In the House of the Rising Sun

Well, I got one foot on the platform
The other foot on the train
I’m goin’ back to New Orleans
To wear that ball and chain

Well, there is a house in New Orleans
They call the Rising Sun
And it’s been the ruin of many a poor boy
And God I know I’m one

4. Walkin’ On the Sun by Smash Mouth

It ain’t no joke
I’d like to buy the world a toke
And teach the world to sing in perfect harmony
And teach the world to snuff the fires and the liars
Hey I know it’s just a song but it’s spice for the recipe
This is a love attack
I know it went out but it’s back
It’s just like any fad it retracts before impact
And just like fashion is a passion for the with it and hip
If ya got the goods, they’ll come and buy it just to stay in the clique

So don’t delay, act now, supplies are running out
Allow, if you’re still alive, six to eight years to arrive
And if you follow, there may be a tomorrow
But if the offers shun you might as well be walkin’ on the sun
[ Lyrics from: http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/s/smash_mouth/walking_on_the_sun.html ]
Twenty-five years ago, they spoke out and they broke out
Of recession and opression and together they toked
And they folked out with guitars around a bon fire
Just singin’ and clappin’, man what the hell happened
Some were spell-bound, some were hell-bound
Some they fell down and some got back up
And fought against the melt-down
And their kids were hippie chicks, all hypocrites
Because fashion is smashin’ the true meaning of it

So don’t delay, act now, supplies are running out
Allow, if you’re still alive, six to eight years to arrive
And if you follow, there may be a tomorrow
But if the offers shun you might as well be walkin’ on the sun

It ain’t no joke when Mama’s handkerchief is soaked
With her tears because her baby’s life has been revoked
The bond is broke up so choke up and focus on the close up
Mr. Wizard can’t perform no God-like hocus pocus
So don’t sit back, kick back, and watch the world get bushwhacked
News at ten o’clock your neighborhood is under attack
Put away the crack before the crack puts you away
You need to be there when your babies are old enough to relate

So don’t delay, act now, supplies are running out
Allow, if you’re still alive, six to eight years to arrive
And if you follow, there may be a tomorrow
But if the offers shun you might as well be walkin’ on the sun
You might as well be walkin’ on the sun
You might as well be walkin’ on the sun
You might as well be walkin’ on the sun
You might as well be walkin’ on the sun

5. Carry On My Wayward Son by Kansas (which is probably my all time favorite, no lie)

Chorus:
Carry on my wayward son,
For there’ll be peace when you are done
Lay your weary head to rest
Now don’t you cry no more

Once I rose above the noise and confusion
Just to get a glimpse beyond the illusion
I was soaring ever higher, but I flew too high
Though my eyes could see I still was a blind man
Though my mind could think I still was a mad man
I hear the voices when I’m dreamin’,
I can hear them say

Carry on my wayward son,
For there’ll be peace when you are done
Lay your weary head to rest
Now don’t you cry no more

Masquerading as a man with a reason
My charade is the event of the season
And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely
means that I don’t know
On a stormy sea of moving emotion
Tossed about I’m like a ship on the ocean
I set a course for winds of fortune, but
I hear the voices say

Carry on, you will always remember
Carry on, nothing equals the splendor
Now your life’s no longer empty
Surely heaven waits for you

Carry on my wayward son,
For there’ll be peace when you are done
Lay your weary head to rest
Now don’t you cry no more

About strikingfancy

I have many and varied interests, and I plan to explore them all. Eventually. View all posts by strikingfancy

Leave a Reply

