Winter Hols And The Great Mystery.

I’ve been rattling around in my brain for the last few weeks trying to come up with Christmas presents for everyone this year. I’m uber frustrated, because I really want to make things for people, but most of my skill lies in yarn craft, and really, I live in the South East. Most everyone in my acquaintance lives in the South East. Those who don’t? Asia and California.

Not a whole lot of call for yarn crafting there.

Anyhoo, though I’m quite crafty, if I do say so my self, I’m not exactly what I would call ‘creative’. I can follow instructions well enough, I might even be able to develop off of them, but I don’t immediately understand the applications of everything within those directions. Usually, someone somewhere has a brilliant idea, and I help with the follow through.

This is not something I can do with winter holidays pressies. (I’m pagan, half my friends are agnostic, the other half Christian, most of my family is Christian, then there’s my atheist father and friend, who still insist on presents so they don’t feel left out.)

To add insult to injury, my mother-in-law has officially declared that I am no longer allowed to go to her blog because she needs to tell someone about what she is making me for Christmas, even if I am a dirty, dirty Pagan-Heathen. This bothers me because a. Half the recipes I love of hers can be found on her blog, so I don’t have to search through the family books for them, and b. because though I’m not a frequent reader, any time there is family news, you can count on her to have a funny take on it, which she posts to her blog.

Really, I don’t know which is worse, that I’m not allowed to see her blog, or that she’s so obviously got a leg up on winter crafting. Actually, those are probably on par with one another.

I'm thinking of making this for my MIL. Click on the picture for the project page.

About strikingfancy

I have many and varied interests, and I plan to explore them all. Eventually. View all posts by strikingfancy

Leave a Reply

