Lubing Up The Cat.

I feed Vaseline to Cat pretty much daily. Please, let me explain. There is a perfectly reasonable reason, I promise.

Anyone who’s had cats usually knows that hairballs can be an issue if your cat is kept indoors. Sometimes, cats just can’t process all the hair they eat when they bathe themselves, and really, hairballs are icky, icky, icky. If a cat can get outside, then they often will eat grass and leaves to help themselves throw up the hairball, but Cat is not going outside.

So I go with a little more logical approach. The Vaseline acts as a lubricant, and doesn’t allow the hairballs to form as easily, meaning Cat is less likely to have them. And frankly, Cat loves it.

I don’t give her much, just a pea-sized bit spread over my finger a few times a week. Cat comes running for it every time. She hears the lid popping off the container, and she’s right there. She comes for it more readily than she does her food.

Fritter saw me doing this and thought I was out of my mind, but I’ve been doing this for years with other cats. I learned it from my mom, and really, it is just as viable an option as the more costly hairball solutions sold in stores, considering most of those are edible salves based on, you guessed it!, Vaseline. Why spend more on something that is just going to do the same damn thing?

And besides, I like Vaseline because it comes in a tub or jar, which means I don’t have to sit there and try to squeeze it out of a tube.

Husband is against the whole thing, mainly because he hates Vaseline in general. His take is that a) it is disgusting, and b) it eats through latex. That’s pretty much all you need to know about the horrors of Vaseline. I think this is a pretty limited view, but I’m aware that his opinion is shared with quite a few. I don’t really care. I mean, the feel is no different than any other lubricant (including olive oil and vegetable oil), and it isn’t harming Cat, and she loves it.

And really, anything to mean that I have to step on fewer hairballs, ’cause in the grand scheme of disgusting? Hairballs win the prize.

About strikingfancy

I have many and varied interests, and I plan to explore them all. Eventually. View all posts by strikingfancy

Leave a Reply

