Dice and Pearls.

I swear my MIL is not going to have a single thing to give me come winter hols time. Last night, she gave me not one, but two of my presents she’s been working so hard on. Husband’s pouting because he feels like she is doing so much for me, but not for him or his brothers, but I think that she just feels like I will appreciate the effort she’s putting in for me.

Crafting is something she and I both share; we have a running joke that I’m going to inherit all of her crafting supplies should anything happen to her. I love working on crafts, and she has been so awesome at making jewelry for me that I love.

This having been said, the last piece she gave me is my official new favorite. She gave me a dice and pearl necklace, and it. is. gorgeous.

You see, I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this, but Husband and I are complete geeks/dorks.  We like to dress up in costumes and costume makeup. We go to science fiction conventions. We argue about who is the better captain, Kirk or Picard. We play Dungeons and Dragons.

Dungeons and Dragons is the game we play every week, and one of the fun parts of playing is that you always have a set of dice. And the dice aren’t just your standard board game six-sided dice, either. There are many different kinds!

A Pound of Dice from DnDdice.com

Most sets have 1 d4, 1 d6, 1 d8, 1 d10, 1 d12, 1 d20, and 1 percentage die, which is the same shape as a d10, and can be used the same way, just marked with multiples of ten as opposed to just single digits and 10.

In any event, MIL decided to make me a necklace out of them because they are so much fun, they play a pretty big part of our lives and interactions, and because we all bond over them. Husband bought me my first and second sets, and I’ve bought him two sets as well.

The necklace is absolutely beautiful. It is in shades of blue (one of my favorite colors), and I can’t wait to wear it. I’ve decided that I’ll be wearing it to Dragon*Con, and I’m trying to decide how often I can get away with it!

About strikingfancy

I have many and varied interests, and I plan to explore them all. Eventually. View all posts by strikingfancy

Leave a Reply

